So many choices out there it can be rather confusing… Here's what I've found out so far…

Stokke Tripp Trapp high Chair

Stokke Tripp Trapp High Chair

10 Tips getting your baby to eat solids –

So for those who have been following my blog you will know that I have now started back at work hence the reason I’m not on much at the moment, which will now be changing as I have found a new job with reduced hours… Great!! More work/life balance.
Since I have started back at work my son has been sick, building an immunity they tell me… Then he has decided that he doesn’t want to be feed solid food by me anymore….

At first I started to stress about it and was worried, as from what I have read and what you get told by the experts is – A child should be eating solids by the age of about 7 or 8 months and a bottle should come second….Which wasn’t happening until I started to come up with a game plan….

So this is what has an is working for me –

1.Remember every child is different!!

Don’t stress… Ask someone you know and trust for advice not just good old Google… I asked my mother – she’s had two of us… She said he will again in his own time, he’s trying out his independence already and apparently my brother and I were exactly the same!!!

2. Try finger foods instead of you trying to feed him or her via a spoon. It will allow them to try out their independence trying to eat for themselves ( this has worked for me )

Just make sure that the foods are cut up into pea sized shape/size and can be easily eaten eg cooked broccoli, carrots, small bits of toast with spread.

3. Try to get a routine together. Jack now eats at about 6pm every night. Feeds himself, then again when we have tea at about 7.30ish he will have a wee bit more.

I then give a bottle before bed which I have also read you shouldn’t do but hey it works for us… And what works, works!!!

Daycare take care of daytime for me which is usually about 12pm so i like to keep it the same on weekends.

4. Children from what I have read can take a few attempts at a food before they like it… So if they don’t like it today don’t worry or get frustrated try it again in few days or weeks. Jack goes though stages where he will like sweet potato one day then the next day he won’t..

5. Baby rice crackers have been a godsend for me to get him used to eating solids by himself… They are made little for little hands, and disintegrate in the mouth so no/or little choking hazard, no sugar or salt – made for kids…

6.I’ve tried to make his diet varied… I’ve got  list of foods suitable for his age – 9 months which is mostly everything now. I try to give him a new taste or texture each day to keep him interested in finger foods.

7. I’ve gone back to having completely mashed foods if i do try to feed him by a spoon… Anything with a hint of a lump puts him off unless he is eating it himself… yoghurt is great plus foods from stage 1 and 2 eg mashed sweet potato or pumpkins… This is the only way i can get him to eat off a spoon at the moment and I’m now fine with it.

8. Fresh food feeder… I’ve brought one of these for Jack refer previous post – These have helped him get used to feel of apples/carrots etc and the taste which he can now eat without the feeder. I don’t give raw carrots yet without using the fresh food feeder I always cook them if I’m giving it to him out of the feeder to eat.

Fisher-Price Healthy Care Delux Booster seat9. Go with the flow… let them make a mess, let them throw it on the floor for the dogs to eat ( my dogs love feeding time!)

10. Have a set space for them to eat and same place each day. We sit Jack in the Kitchen in his high chair. Sadly the high chair is too big for him at the moment so we have to squash towels in front of him so that he stays sitting upright otherwise he tends to sag down in the seat. Think having a set place allows him to know what is coming and what is expected. Going to actually look into buying a booster seat these seem to be fantastic and some of them can be used up to age of 4 like the Fisher-Price Deluxe Booster.

Comments on: "10 Tips For Getting Your Baby To Eat Solids…" (2)

  1. Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

    • Thanks for letting me know could you tell me what pages they are? As all look fine on the browsers I use? Cheers Sam

Leave a Reply

