So many choices out there it can be rather confusing… Here's what I've found out so far…

I am a single working mom that has many responsibilities and have just taken on another by going back to school for my Bachelors of Science in Nursing Degree. Between work, keeping up with the kids and their schedules, household chores, classes, I am often asked how I juggle it all. To be honest I use to ask myself the same question many times. Every parent wishes they had superpowers and I am one of them!
I run the household and my life only works when I have it all together so becoming obsessed with staying organized, scheduling and time management so I don’t sink comes with the territory.

Ingredient 1: Support

One of the main ingredients that help me keep it together is a support system. A support system can help you tremendously with the kids. My mom and sister helped make it possible for me to even work let alone going back to school.

Ingredient 2: Schedule

Another ingredient, any parent will tell you, is to have a schedule. I am a HUGE supporter of the Family Calendar. If it’s not listed on the calendar then I don’t know about it! If I or my daughter has a test, my son needs to go the Doctor, my daughter has ballet lessons, we list it on the calendar! That way we can see what we have going on each week. I take this a step further by listing out my to do list in a daily planner so I can carry this in my purse and have it with me at all times.

Ingredient 3: Reminders
At times sending an E-Mail or a text message to yourself to remind you to do something on a certain day is something I utilize as well. I don’t go crazy with them so I am overwhelming myself, but if something is not for another month I just put it in my Microsoft outlook calendar and I set a reminder for a week ahead of time.

Ingredient 4: Time Management and Multi Tasking
By taking advantage of time management and your ability to multi task you save time, spend less and have more time to spend with the ones you love.

Bills

Once the bills comes in don’t leave it sitting around. Put all the bills in one place and when you are ready to pay then you can open deal with them.

Outfits

The morning is hectic enough so I plan out outfits for myself and the kids so I don’t have to be searching around in the morning.

Cleaning

Asking your kids to empty the dish washer, take the trash out, make their beds, clean up their toys, helps you save the amount of time that it normally takes to clean the house. I set up a sticker system once a chore is completed they get a sticker.

Meals

Cook and plan your meals ahead of time. Buy food that you can get more than one meal out of such as a turkey. You save money and have food that is already prepared for the week.

Errands

Instead of putting all those extra miles on the car and spending extra money on gas try and cut back on all the errands you run. Wait until you are going to work to mail that bill and go to the grocery store once a week.

Ingredient 5: Expect The Unexpected and Have a Backup Plan!

I can’t tell you how many times I have had to rearrange plans because my son suddenly became sick; my mom had to go to the hospital or my sister wasn’t able to help watch the kids while I study. This can ruin your whole day so you have to be ready for the unexpected with a backup plan. I always make sure I know when other family members and the family babysitters can and can’t help out. This saves me having to get on the phone and start calling to see who is available when I am in the middle of an emergency.

When it comes to running the household and keeping up with everything I have found that this has worked for my family as we embark on mom going back to school.
About the Author:
Carrie is a single Mother of two, works full time as a nurse, and attends accelerated rn to bsn online classes. With her busy schedule Carrie is a strong believer in time management and being organized. She can be found blogging about her experiences at Tales from a Nursing Student.

Comments on: "The Single Mom’s Ingredients to Running the Household" (2)

  1. Thanks Carrie for you helpful post I’m sure it will help other parents out there!

  2. I went through nursing school too and I know what you are talking about. It can be hard when you have so much on your plate. I wish you the best of luck and good job with your blog. I love your article. I hope you love my blog at http://www.thecribhub.com where we have a great crib sale.

Leave a Reply

