So many choices out there it can be rather confusing… Here's what I've found out so far…

Now I wish I’d done my homework before Jack was born. From what I have read travel systems are FANTASTIC!!

I currently own a Britax Infant car seat with no base and a totally separate stroller. Not ideal – The capsule is a pain to get in and out of the car without a base (have to deal with car straps each and every time) and if Jack is asleep I have to either wake him up to put him in the stroller or carry the capsule around.. Trust me they do get heavy.

If we do decide to have another child I will definitely invest in a stroller travel system. So after finding out what I am missing out on I’ve decided to do a review on one that I have read about and it seems to be an excellent system plus extremely good value for money. I suggest new parents or expecting parents to do their research as well… Anything to make life that bit easier with a newborn is got to be a good thing!

Chicco Cortina Keyfit 30 Travel System

So as I said above I’ve done some investigation on this particular travel system.

Why you may ask?

Well it’s due to the Chicco Keyfit 30 being U.S.A’s number 1 rated infant car seat. And I can see why there are many reasons this seat is the number 1 seat in America.

As I stated in the Britax review safety is number 1 for me when looking at car seats. I know we don’t like to think about it, but the scary statistics show that car crashes are the number 1 leading cause of death in children under the age of 14.…..

So this Chicco car seat has a 5 point harness system. I won’t rehash the safety of a 5 point harness instead you can read about it here.

The 5 point harness system on this particular model is a one pull adjustment for the harness – mine doesn’t have this feature and believe me it’s quite fidley and a real hassle.

There is a base that you install has a guide on their website here.

Then to make it even easier and safer this car seat has a bubble level guide for when you actually put the seat in the base!!!

This assists in the installation of the car seat each and every time! Not only making it easier to install but giving you piece of mind that you actually installed it safely and correctly! Now that is good stuff!

Another safety feature is that the Keyfit has a deep shell to cocoon your child when in an accident to help shield his or her body. Around the shell there is energy absorbing foam and side impact protection.

Rear Facing for safety

Chicco Keyfit 30 Infant Car Seat and BaseQuite possibly another reason this car seat has been America’s best car seat is the fact that it has one of the highest weight limit in the market.

Most car seats are 22 pounds this one can go up to 30 pounds 33 inches or if your like me and don’t know what age this equates too, it’s roughly to the age of 2!! So no need for that next size up till then!

And they have kept the car seat at the same weight 9 pounds which is great. What this means is you will be able to keep your child in a rear facing car seat till about the age of 2.

The American Academy of pediatrics endorse that you should keep your child in a rear facing car seat for as long as possible and they should be at least 1-year-old and 20 pounds….

Did you know that a child’s head is about 25% of his or her body mass…Whereas an adults is only 6%… Imagine having your child in a front facing car seat in a head on collision or view this video to see what I mean….

I’ve only just touched this subject please do a search on rear facing to find out more facts about why a child should be kept this way for as long as possible.. I know I’ll be keeping Jack in Rear facing for as long as he can be it’s just so much safer…

On To the Stroller…..

Value for money 

I currently have a stroller that I brought rather cheaply but to be honest I will have to upgrade it soon as Jack will have grown out of it.. The Chicco Cortina works from newborn up to 50 pounds, it might not wear this long but wow the weight limit is fantastic.

Safety 

The Chicco Cortina has a 5 point harness and a one step linked break system.

Mine has two-step break system… So not as efficient or safe especially when you have sleep deprived brain!

Many Many Features!!

I won’t go into huge detail on all the features but there are many!

Some of the ones I like are –

• Leg rest at front for the infant stroller flips up to enclose your newborn This leg rest then extends out for your baby as he or she growsChicco Cortina Stroller

• One step linked brake system good for sleep deprived mum and dads

• Removable snack tray for easy washing

• It folds up into a sitting position one-handed which is great if you have bub’s in one arm

• Handle moves up and down to accommodate your height.

• It’s apparently a smooth ride for your little one with front wheel suspension

• Storage basket

• Memory recline…. I’m still not sure on how this works but apparently the seat remembers the last setting it was on even from full recline..

• AND most of all you can put your Keyfit 30 car seat into it so you don’t have to wake him or her up!

Value for money overall?

From what I have seen on the costs, it’s about $300 US dollars where ever you buy it from.

I think that’s great value you not only get a car seat that is able to be used for about 2 years but you get a stroller as well that can possibly last up to 7 years old! I think that’s good value considering we have now spent about $200 for our car seat and stroller only to have to buy the next size up car seat until Jack is 2 then having to purchase another… Plus the stroller as well.

What are others saying?

Now it’s important to get actual feedback from others that have brought the system. Amazon has customer reviews  and it is rated 4.3 out of 5. Read more here..

Some of what people are saying –

Stroller is amazing It’s exactly what we were looking for

The system is really easy to use

Rides sooo smooth

Car base is extremely secure and locks into place so you know you have done it correctly…

Any complaints?

There are a couple – Fabric is warm, heavy to use ( weight of car seat is same as other models and weight of stroller is 25 pounds). But overall people seem happy to have this combo.

So where can I buy it?

From what I have seen as stated above the price doesn’t vary much. You can buy it in many stores like Target, Lone Star Baby, USA Baby.Amazon also sells it for $295.24 along with shipping deals in USA.

You can see it in action here… The advert on the you tube video has nothing to do with me just thought it is a very good demo on this travel system.

I’d love to hear any comments or questions you may have. You can comment here or email me at childgearreviews@gmail.com

Comments on: "Why I Love Travel Systems!! A review on the Chicco Cortina System…" (7)

  1. […] Tip 1. Do your homework on the brand you are looking to purchase. This can be done by reading reviews of actual customers either on the manufactures website, Amazon and reviews on a particular model like my travel system review. […]

  2. […] blog covers all things child-related, especially reviews of things like car seats, travel systems, bouncers, and other necessities for the kidlets. It’s certainly worth a look if you’re […]

  3. […] infant is about to outgrow his Chicco KeyFit30 seat and I read and researched about all the available convertible-type seats and ended up […]

  4. Great, thanks for sharing this article. Really Great.

  5. […] Cortina Keyfit 30 Travel SystemWhy I Love Travel Systems!! A review on the Chicco Cortina System…Why I Love Travel Systems!! A review on the Chicco Cortina System… […]

  6. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogging and seriously loved you’re web page. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You actually have beneficial articles. Regards for sharing with us your web page.

  7. I love Chicco Cortina Keyfit 30 Travel System. Thanks

Leave a Reply

